h1

Finished: Ivy League Vest

2 October 2008

 

Pattern: Ivy League Vest by Eunny Jang, IK Winter ’07

Yarn: Knit Picks Palette (fingering weight wool), from stash

Needles: Addi Turbo US 4 16″ circular

New techniques learned: steeking!

(ravelry details)

It’s a strange thing: I never had any intention of knitting a vest. But somehow, one day, I saw a picture of this vest on the most addictive website ever and thought two things:

1. That’s pretty cool.

2. I have that pattern.

Then I had the critical third thought:

3. Hmmm, I think I have some Palette in my stash. Maybe I should go look…

…and the next thing I knew, I was sitting on the sofa with an inch of corrugated ribbing on my needles and a dazed expression on my face.

For perhaps the first time in my knitting life, I worked on one project exclusively from start to finish. I was hooked; the shaping, the fair-isle patterns, the steeking…my God, the steeking! What an experience. It took me 27 days from cast-on to unpinning the blocked vest.

I wore the vest to work on Tuesday and really enjoyed it. It’s warm, fairly flattering, and well-fitting; I wanted to wear it on Wednesday as well! I have nothing but kind words for the pattern: it is well-written and extremely detailed. I’d knit this again, perhaps in a different color scheme.

In short: love love love this one!

5 comments

  1. Wow, 27 days? I’m very impressed. It looks great!


  2. You know that I very much admire your knitting skills and the beautiful projects you make. Thanks for encouraging and helping me with my knitting. We are having a great time with “the professor” this weekend! I enjoy your blog, and now he has shown me how to leave a comment. Love, your mom-in-law


  3. […] Finished: Ivy League Vest, take two (version 1.0 is here) […]


  4. […] Another Ivy League Vest (Here’s the first one I made, the varsity edition, and the Ravelry pattern […]


  5. Pretty cool vest… 🙂



Leave a Reply

