h1

holiday treats

2 January 2009

dscn1405

Pattern: Pashmina Cowl by Joelle Hoverson, from Last-Minute Knitted Gifts

(ravel it)

Yarn: Shi Bui Knits Sock in colorway #229 (I’d call this one Ume, plum vinegar, although it looks like they’ve named it Mulberry). I used about 1 and 2/3 skeins. 

Needles: Addi turbo US 4 16″ circular (these are becoming my favorite needles)

Modifications: I cast on 144 stitches to allow for a difference of gauge. The cowl is a bit loose; I might cast on 136 next time.

I cast this on during the first few miles of our 2008 Holiday Road Trip, and cast off a day or two after our return. It might be the loveliest travel knitting I’ve ever done: the pattern was so plain that it could be done in pitch darkness when necessary, the yarn was soft and soothing to the touch, the colors were restful but always subtly changing to keep my interest…I want to make another one! 

I promised a note on our New Year’s Eve feast. Here is the menu:

fresh blackberries

mixed salad

rigatoni with squash, sweet potato, and bacon

coffee ice cream with pecans

The blackberries: they were 98 cents for 4 ounces! I don’t know if I’ve ever seen berries so cheap; I bought two cartons and wished I’d gotten more. There was almost a riot at the market when people saw this price.

The salad: I usually buy a box of mixed greens (I like Earthbound Farm Fresh Herb mix) and add whatever else seems appropriate. In this case, that was some toasted walnuts, dried cranberries, and leftover crumbled Roquefort. I like to make my own dressing, but often can’t be bothered to and use Paul Newman balsamic vinaigrette instead.

The pasta: this recipe, courtesy of the delightful Fig & Plum, is one of the best things I’ve ever eaten. The only change I made was to substitute a mixture of chopped sweet potato and butternut squash for the pumpkin, since it’s hard to find a suitable cooking pumpkin around these parts.

The ice cream: Haagen-Dazs, to help us stay awake until midnight!

We drank a hoarded bottle of wedding-present champagne with dinner, which was perfect.

Coming soon: pictures of the Professor’s socks, another delicious recipe, and pictures of lovely Christmas yarn!

 

One comment

  1. love love love the cowl!

    I’m getting better at knitting, and more adventurous…you are inspiring me!



Leave a Reply

