h1

ardent devotion

15 April 2009

dscn1565

Pattern: Ardent Jacket by Kat Coyle, from the Spring 2009 issue of Twist Collective

Yarn: Classic Elite Skye Tweed (heartbreakingly discontinued) from Webs

Needles: US 7 Addi Natura 32″ circular (back only) and US 7 Clover bamboo 10″ straights

Time to knit: 13 days (it really was finished in March, and I wore it around for about two weeks while I waited for the buttons to arrive from China)

dscn1539

This is my new favorite garment: the fit is perfect, the style is flattering, the neutral color goes with nearly everything, and the yarn is soft, warm and strong (I snagged it on a metal clasp the other day and though it pulled out a loop, it didn’t come close to tearing). I did make a few changes just to suit my personal needs, although Kat’s pattern is perfect as written.  I loved the double lattice pattern so much that I omitted the honeycomb lace and even did an extra repeat of the lattice on the body pieces for an empire line. Otherwise, however, I knit the pattern exactly.

If you haven’t checked out Twist Collective, you’ve got to. The designs are stunning, and the pattern I bought was extremely detailed, clear, and error-free. I’ll definitely buy more Twist patterns!

I fortunately happened upon these buttons while poking around on Etsy.

dscn1592

They’re handmade of wood, and they’re absolutely stunning. I got them from Ruth’s shop, and I recommend her highly. She was extremely helpful, super-fast on communication, and she even sent me some extra buttons as a present for my first Etsy purchase!

dscn1585

I also got this lovely Korean gingham ribbon and made a loop to hang the jacket. The color on this photo is terrible (sorry!); the ribbon is dark blue and cream-colored. I think it’s a nice detail, so I also used it to line the button band. I might line the spaces between the buttonholes as well, since I still have some ribbon left.

I can’t believe I took so long to blog this project! I’ve already finished the April almanac sweater (sadly, less successful…but you’ll see).

4 comments

  1. This looks so fabulous! It looks great in the Skye Tweed. I really love that ribbon/loop detail.


  2. […] karma knits « ardent devotion schooled 17 April […]


  3. i love what you’ve done with this jacket. the finishing touches like the ribbon and loop on the inside are really nice.


  4. Oh, your buttons are perfect on that! 🙂



Leave a Reply

