h1

so much to say

16 June 2009

DSCN1920

Pattern: Clapotis, by Kate Gilbert, from Knitty (Fall 2004)

Yarn: Mondial Le Perle Gold Cashmere, a bit over 3 skeins, in color 953 (orange and hot pink with bits of greeny-grey)

Needles: Tahki “extra smooth” bamboo, US 5

DSCN1930

My father brought me this yarn from Korea, and I really loved working with it. It’s soft, squishy, and a fun colorway. I’m several years late to the Clapotis party, but it still seems to be in full swing, and after knitting this pattern, I can certainly see why. I tried using stitch markers for awhile, but lost patience with them (and ran out of matching ones–am I the only one who worries about matching stitch markers?), so I tried purling the dropped stitch instead. After a few rows, I realized that I wasn’t too keen on that idea either, and that it was just a six-stitch repeat, for heaven’s sake! I ended up keeping track by thinking to myself:

“One, two, three, TWIST & SHOUT!”

Or, in knitting language: k3, k1tbl, k1, k1bl. Make sense? I’m obviously crazy, but this little tag-line somehow made the knitting even more fun. This was the perfect knit for post-UK jet-lag and kitchen remodeling blues. The only problem now is that I’m not knitting a Clapotis anymore. Clearly, that will have to change.

A few more random musings:

1. I’ve cut my hair. This is the shortest it’s ever been. I’m really enjoying it.

2. I’m still working on a massive blog post about our trip (especially the fiber-y aspects). Once we’re done with this renovation project (I should probably post about that too, eh?), I should have more time on the computer and less time calling contractors, cleaning up massive amounts of dust, etc.

3. I’ve begun work on the June sweater. Here’s a hint:DSCN1629

And now I am going to see if I can find some Cheerios. It’s pretty marginal around here, food-wise.

One comment

  1. I love the new haircut! Congratulations on being so brave. The shawl is beautiful, too.



Leave a Reply

