h1

one scarf, two scarf

6 February 2010

green scarf

blue scarf!

Sometimes, when I want a particularly soothing project to work on, I go for a scarf or shawl. They can be complex enough to take my mind off of my troubles (like the Swallowtail shawl, top) or simple enough to keep my fingers busy while I watch a relaxing movie (like the Lacy Baktus, bottom).

Pattern: Swallowtail Shawl by Evelyn A. Clark, from Fall 2006 Interweave Knits (but now available free)

Yarn: Classic Elite Alpaca Sox in Ivy, one skein (with 9 g left over), frogged from this sock

Needles: US 5 Addi Lace (I love these needles!)

I wasn’t a bit sad to frog the sock; it was too tightly knit to go on my foot and the pattern wasn’t reading well. The yarn works much better in lace, because it drapes beautifully and the limited elasticity doesn’t matter. As others have noted, this shawl is an extremely quick knit. I had that end-of-a-good-book feeling after I cast off–it was finished too soon! I’ll have to knit another.

Pattern: Lacy Baktus, by Terhi Monotonen

Yarn: Handmaiden Fine Yarn Casbah Sock in Ocean Currents, one skein (about 1 yard left over), from the 2009 Loopy Ewe Sock Club

Needles: US 5 Clover bamboo straights

This yarn is really spectacular, and I’d love to get some more. The colorway was beautiful, and the base yarn was deliciously soft and squishy.

As much fun as I had with the sock club, I won’t be joining again this year. I loved the yarn and the extras, but somehow none of the patterns really spoke to me. Instead, I’m looking forward to this shipment, as well as to a good year of knitting from stash. Sometimes the best yarn shop really is my own cupboard!

One comment

  1. I love, love, LOVE the swallowtail lace scarf!!! Thank you for linking the pattern – I am finishing my second lace pattern (a leafy cowl) and am eager to try something new!



Leave a Reply

