h1

Geburtstag? Nein, Geburtswoch!

13 March 2010

So, the Professor’s birthday has been properly fêted. The festivities included, but were not limited to: cake (and I realized I forgot to link to the recipe, sorry), a poker game, dinner, chocolate, dinner, a movie, and lunch.

So how did we kick these celebrations off? With dinner, of course.

Menu (and recipes) to be found in the April 2010 issue of Martha Stewart Living (I did look for a link, but couldn’t find one). This may be the perfect early spring dinner: roast chicken with green onions, goat-cheese potato salad, and sugar-snap peas in lemon juice and olive oil. I did simplify the potato salad a bit (no celery), but it was still delicious.

Now, I have a question: does anyone else’s house fill with smoke when they roast a chicken? This doesn’t happen when I cook any other foods, so I know it’s not a dirty oven. Is there something inherently smoky about chicken? I’d love to be able to serve this kind of meal to guests, but I think the fumes would kind of put a damper on the evening. If you have any tips, I’d love to hear them.

Because you know I’m going to be making this again!

2 comments

  1. Hi Lara,

    My kitchen fills with smoke if I use olive oil in roasting/frying on high heat. I try to use olive oil primarily for garnishing now, or for dressing the dish. This does not happen as often with vegetable and peanut oils, but once things get hot enough… the smoking point is reached… So I turn on the fans and open the windows. 🙂

    Good luck and let me know if you find a solution!


  2. yum!!



Leave a Reply

