h1

blue notes

1 November 2008

Finished: Rib and Cable Socks by Nancy Bush (Interweave Knits, Fall 2005)

Yarn: Regia Tweed in Blue Jean (I think that’s the color name…)

Needles: US 1 Knitpicks Harmony DPNs (from the sock set, which I love)

Modifications: I made some gauge modifications and fiddled with the heel a little bit.

Notes: I’m not sure about this toe shaping; it’s certainly very unique, and it looks interesting, but it’s not the most comfortable one I’ve ever worn. The purl stitches are a little too bumpy.

The new socks: Froot Loop (Knitty Spring ’08), although it’s not as though you can tell from this picture. In this yarn (Cherry Tree Hill supersock merino in some blue colorway), the little rings looked like blueberries to me, so I photographed them with a batch of blueberry muffins! Yum. 

As for the socks, they are fun to knit. I was just thinking that this is the first time in a long while that I have knit a pattern exactly according to the instructions. I like it!

I’ll leave you with some pictures of more blue yarn, courtesy of a lovely Loopy Ewe gift certificate from my in-laws! 

From left to right: ShibuiKnits Sock in 350, Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Solid in China Blue, and Gypsyknits BFL Superwash Fingering in Blue Moon.

One comment

  1. Glad to see you got so much yarn with your gift certificate–and it’s all blue, my favorite color. Love the new socks, too.



Leave a comment